Utahns get well-deserved recognition with 2013 Better Beehive Awards

Salt Lake City – Among the winners of the Alliance for a Better UTAH’s 2013 Better Beehive Awards are the journalists who uncovered former Attorney General John Swallow’s corrupt dealings, a Republican legislator who favors medicaid expansion, and an unlikely gay pride festival.

Better Beehive Awards image

Better UTAH is continuing its annual tradition of honoring groups and individuals who make Utah a better place to live. This year’s winners are reporters Robert Gehrke and Eric Peterson, state Sen. Brian Shiozawa, the Provo Pride festival, Linda Hilton of Crossroads Urban Center, and Utah Parents Against Gun Violence.

[For more in-depth information on this year’s winners, visit: http://betterutah.org/better-beehive-awards-2013/]

The Alliance for a Better UTAH started presenting the Better Beehive Awards in 2012.

“We wanted everyone to remember that while it’s often easy to point a finger at deficiencies in the system, real progress is achieved by those who stand up for what is right in an effort to make Utah a better place,” said Maryann Martindale, Better UTAH Executive Director.

Winners of the Better Beehive Award come from all walks of life, from all over the political spectrum and from all over the state. And despite their many differences, each of these individuals share a commitment to improving the quality of life in Utah.

“While there will always be more work to be done,” said Martindale. “These five individuals and organizations have left Utah a better place to live and work at the end of 2013 than they found it at the beginning of the year.”

Better UTAH has named the award “the Better Beehive” in recognition of the value of the hard work required to bring balance to Utah, while simultaneously honoring Utah’s tremendous history.

“We joke tongue-in-cheek that our informal motto is ‘Building a Better Beehive,’” said Josh Kanter, Better UTAH’s founder. “But, consistent with our mission, we’re trying to make Utah better while respecting the sometimes quirky culture that makes Utah an already great place to live.”

The 2012 awards recipients included the environmental organization HEAL Utah, former state Sen. Ross Romero, community activists Sandy and Paul Krueger, The Salt Lake Tribune Editorial Board and the cities of Harrisville and Springville for passing non-discrimination ordinances.


Maryann Martindale
Executive Director, Alliance for a Better UTAH
801.557.1532 | maryann@betterutah.org

Isaac Holyoak
Communications Director, Alliance for a Better UTAH
801.664.9751 | isaac@betterutah.org
Alliance for a Better Utah |  801.557.1532   | www.betterutah.org
The Alliance for a Better UTAH is a year-round, multi-issue education and advocacy organization providing resources, commentary, and action on important public policy matters.

Scroll to Top
Better Utah is covering the Utah Legislature's 2024 General Session
Sign up for our daily legislative updates